27. February 2018

Zak – the name says it all

Cler Zak logo
Branding for the first smartphone bank in Switzerland. «Zak» expresses what the smartphone account of Bank Cler stands for: radically simple and fast banking. As of today, the Zak app is live and revolutionizing mobile banking in Switzerland. Scholtysik & Partner developed the name, the interface design as well as tonality and language style.

Bank Cler Zak doesn’t have much in common with conventional banking any more: Zak is based on a radically new platform model. Bank account, Maestro card and credit card come for free. The app was exclusively designed for smartphones, its use is more intuitive and faster than traditional mobile banking.

Go to project

Zak puts knowledge of behavioral economics into practice

Centerpiece is the personal division of the account balance into individual pots. All account movements are automatically displayed in these budget pots. The user always knows how much is put aside and for what purpose and how much money he can spend at the moment. This meets an urgent need of the young target group of Zak.

Bank Cler is ideally positioned for Zak

Scholtysik & Partner is in charge of all Bank Cler’s strategic brand issues. Elsewhere in Europe, innovative projects have to be launched under separate brands because traditional bank brands are perceived as too inert and inflexible. Bank Cler in contrast is credibly positioned as a young, digital bank.

«Zak proves perfectly what Bank Cler stands for: easy money management, understanding the needs of our clients, and fresh ideas.»

Gregor Eicher, Marketing Manager Bank Cler

Zak is different

When developing the name, the radical simplicity and speed of the app were the most important factors. At the same time, suitability in all language regions of Switzerland was mandatory. In addition to the name creation, Scholtysik & Partner also initiated and accompanied semantic clarifications, trademark searches and registrations. The branding agency also defined the tonality and language style of Zak – matching the spirit of the name.

From first idea to launch in only seven months

The agile development required ongoing and close coordination between branding agency and business development, marketing, strategy consultants, software developers and the advertising agency Heimat Zürich, which was responsible for the national launch campaign. Right from the start, Bank Cler actively involved its customers in the development and accepted their wishes. Scholtysik & Partner tested prototypes, optimized the interface design, designed the presentations in the App Store and Google Play Store, designed the Zak Maestro and credit cards and developed Youtube tutorials.

«Zak» on cler.ch
TV special about Zak on SRF 10vor10
Download in App Store
Download in Google Play

More news

27. Februar 2018

Zak – der Name ist Programm

Bank Cler Zak App Logo
Branding für die erste Smartphone-Bank der Schweiz. «Zak» drückt aus, wofür das Smartphone-Konto der Bank Cler steht: Radikal einfaches und schnelles Banking. Seit heute ist die Zak-App live und revolutioniert das Mobile Banking in der Schweiz. Scholtysik & Partner entwickelte den Namen, das Interface-Design sowie Tonalität und Sprachstil.

Bank Cler Zak hat nicht mehr viel mit konventionellem Banking gemein: Zak basiert auf einem radikal neuen Plattform-Modell. Konto, Maestro-Karte und Kreditkarte sind gratis. Die App wurde von Grund auf für das Smartphone entwickelt, ihre Benutzung ist intuitiver und schneller als traditionelles Mobile Banking.

Zum Projekt

Zak setzt Erkenntnisse der Behavioral Economics in die Praxis um.

Herzstück ist die persönliche Aufteilung des Guthabens in individuelle Töpfe. Alle Kontobewegungen werden in diesen Budgettöpfen automatisch abgebildet. So weiss der User immer, für was er wieviel auf die Seite legt und wieviel Geld er im Augenblick noch ausgeben kann. Das trifft ein zentrales Bedürfnis der jungen Zielgruppe von Zak.

Die Bank Cler ist für Zak ideal positioniert.

Scholtysik & Partner betreut die Bank Cler in allen markenstrategischen Fragen. Während innovative Projekte im Ausland unter separaten Marken lanciert werden müssen, weil die traditionellen Bankmarken dafür zu träge und unflexibel wirken, ist Bank Cler glaubwürdig als junge, digitale Bank positioniert.

«Zak belegt perfekt, wofür die Bank Cler als Marke steht: einfacher Umgang mit Geld, Verständnis für die Bedürfnisse unserer Kundschaft und frische Ideen.»

Gregor Eicher, Marketingleiter Bank Cler

Zak ist anders.

Beim Naming stehen die radikale Einfachheit und Schnelligkeit der App im Vordergrund. Gleichzeitig ist die Eignung in allen Sprachregionen der Schweiz zwingend. Neben der Namensfindung initiiert und begleitet Scholtysik & Partner auch semantische Abklärungen sowie die markenrechtlichen Recherchen und Eintragungen. Passend dazu definiert die Branding-Agentur auch die Tonalität und den Sprachstil von Zak.

Von der Idee bis zur Lancierung vergehen nur sieben Monate.

Die agile Entwicklung verlangt eine laufende enge Abstimmung zwischen Branding-Agentur und Unternehmensentwicklung, Marketing, Strategieberatern, Softwareentwicklern und der Werbeagentur Heimat Zürich, welche die nationale Kampagne zur Lancierung verantwortet. Von Beginn weg bindet die Bank Cler Kundinnen und Kunden aktiv in die Entwicklung ein und nimmt deren Wünsche auf. Scholtysik & Partner testet Prototypen, optimiert das Interface-Design, konzipiert die Präsentation in App Store und Google Play Store, gestaltet die Maestro- und Kreditkarte und entwickelt Youtube-Tutorials.

«Zak» auf cler.ch
Beitrag zum Thema in SRF 10vor10
Download im App Store
Download auf Google Play

Weitere News