maxon

Transforming a global market leader

For more than 50 years maxon produces high-precision micro-drives. They can be found in insulin pumps, surgical devices, humanoid robots or high-precision industrial facilities. In tattoo guns, airplanes, cameras, racing cars or cardiac pumps. Last but not least, maxon drives are repeatedly selected by NASA’s Mars exploration program for their ultimate precision and reliability.

“maxon motor” becomes “maxon”

In 2019, maxon took a major step forward to globally reinvent their brand. While development and production of electric precision drives remained a core business maxon started to expand its offering to integrated drive systems. Consequentially, the brand name was shortened to maxon.

“Apart from their vast branding expertise, we were drawn by Scholtysik’s ability and willingness to support us in a very purpose-driven and agile manner.”

Michel Riedmann, Head of Brand & Digital Marketing at maxon

Implementing worldwide

First we turned the strategic ambitions and directives into a future-proof brand positioning. Then we carefully consolidated the brand portfolio. On this foundation we built the new brand design and helped maxon implement the new brand identity worldwide across its many markets and facilities. We regularly partnered with other specialized agencies to ensure a globally consistent and distinctive look and feel.

Puristic Swiss design

The maxon design demonstrates the company’s commitment to highest Swiss quality: radical reduction to the essentials, minimalist typography, restrained color scheme, super clear layouts. Imagery exemplifies the precision and resoluteness that are typical of maxon.

From Sachseln in the Swiss alps to markets and production facilities across the globe

“One Company, One Brand” was both motto and challenge: Diverging identities in the various country organisations and production facilities had to be brought together under the renewed maxon brand. This included all digital and physical touchpoints such as websites, catalogues, print publications, trade shows, events and signage for multiple locations worldwide.

“Transforming a component manufacturer to a system supplier while expanding globally made it imperative to position the maxon brand with great clarity and distinction. The new brand identity brings it to life.”

Carsten Scholtysik, Partner

Mission Mars

NASA’s spectacular Mars mission with the landing of the Perseverance rover and the Ingenuity helicopter inspired maxon’s integrated cross-media campaign 2020/21. The campaign draws from current events as well as from the age-old fascination for outer space and highlights the exceptional performance and reliability of the maxon drives that were especially developed for this mission. The point of the story being that research for these extreme missions on Mars will ultimately benefit maxon drives down here on earth.

Services

Brand analysis | Brand positioning | Brand promise and personality | Brand architecture | Design assessment | Corporate design | Brand design of sub-brands and subsidiaries | Corporate language | Corporate sound | Motion design und film | UX design and Interface design | Design concept for print publications | CI/CD guidelines | Image style and libraries | Exhibitions and events | Signage development and supervision

 

Pictures: NASA/JPL-Caltech, maxon, Scholtysik & Partner

More Projects

maxon

Transformation des weltweiten Branchenleaders

Seit über 50 Jahren entwickelt maxon hochwertige Mikroantriebe – präzise Elektromotoren und die dazugehörigen Getriebe und Steuerungen. Man findet maxon-Antriebe in Insulinpumpen, chirurgischen Handgeräten, humanoiden Robotern, hochpräzisen Industrieanlagen. In Tätowiermaschinen, Flugzeugen, Kameraobjektiven, Rennautos, Herzpumpen. Auch die NASA zählt bei ihren Mars-Missionen auf die Präzision und Zuverlässigkeit von maxon.

Aus «maxon motor» wird «maxon»

2019 richtet maxon seine Marke global neu aus. Die Entwicklung und Produktion von präzisen und effizienten Elektromotoren bleiben wichtig, langfristig entwickelt sich maxon aber zum Anbieter gesamtheitlicher Antriebssysteme. Das wird in der Konzentration auf den Markennamen maxon deutlich.

«Neben der Kompetenz in der Beratung hat uns bei Scholtysik & Partner vor allem deren Fähigkeit überzeugt, Kundenideen agil und zielgerichtet umzusetzen.»

Michel Riedmann, Head of Brand & Digital Marketing bei maxon

Weltweite Implementierung

In einem mehrstufigen Prozess verdichtet Scholtysik & Partner die strategischen Anforderungen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Verantwortlichen bei maxon zu einer tragfähigen Markenpositionierung und konsolidiert das Markenportfolio. Auf dieser Grundlage entwickelt Scholtysik & Partner den Markenauftritt und unterstützt maxon in Zusammenarbeit mit spezialisierten Agenturen bei der weltweiten Implementierung.

Puristisches Schweizer Design

Im Design wird der Schweizer Qualitätsanspruch von maxon erlebbar: Radikale Reduktion auf das Wesentliche, minimalistische Typografie, reduziertes Farbspektrum, klares Layout. Die Bildwelt visualisiert die markentypische Präzision und Entschiedenheit.

Aus Sachseln im Kanton Obwalden in die ganze Welt

Unter dem Motto «One Company, One Brand» werden die bis anhin unterschiedlichen Auftritte der Ländergesellschaften und Produktionsstandorte unter der Marke maxon zusammengefasst. Der neue Gesamtmarkenauftritt umfasst alle digitalen und physischen Anwendungen, von der Online-Präsenz über sämtliche Printmedien bis zu Messen, Events und der Signaletik für alle maxon-Standorte weltweit.

«Der Wandel vom Komponenten- zum Systemanbieter und die stetige Expansion verlangen eine schärfere Positionierung der Marke maxon. Der neue Auftritt macht diese Strategie sichtbar.»

Carsten Scholtysik, Partner

Mission Mars

Mit einer integrierten, crossmedialen Kampagne fokussiert maxon die gleichermassen aktuelle wie spektakuläre Mars-Mission der NASA in den Jahren 2020/21. Die Kampagne verknüpft die Aktualität des Themas und die urmenschliche Faszination für das Weltall mit der aussergewöhnlichen Qualität und Leistungsfähigkeit der Antriebe, die maxon für die Mission entwickelt und produziert. Die zentrale Botschaft ist dabei: Die Erkenntnisse aus der Forschung für die Extremeinsätze auf dem Mars fliessen kontinuierlich ein in die Antriebslösungen für die Erde.

Leistungen

Markenanalyse | Markenpositionierung | Markenwerte und -versprechen | Markenarchitektur | Design-Assessment | Corporate Design | Brand Design Submarken und Beteiligungen | Corporate Language | Corporate Sound | Motion Design und Film | UX- und Interface-Design | Konzeption Printpublikationen | CI/CD-Guidelines | Bildsprache und Bildpool | Ausstellungen und Events | Signaletik – Konzeption und Supervision

 

Bilder: NASA/JPL-Caltech, maxon, Scholtysik & Partner

Weitere Projekte