Basler Kantonalbank

Back in black

Back on track: after some aberrations in the past, Basler Kantonalbank (BKB) recollects its strength. The state-owned bank is the number 1 in the Basel region and focuses on its most important mission: advancing the prosperity of the people and economy of Basel.

Basler Kantonalbank holds roughly a third of the market, making it the region’s most important universal bank. The bank offers retail banking for private clients and SME, private banking for wealthy individuals and a full range of financial services for large corporations, institutional investors and other banks. In 2000, Basler Kantonalbank bought a majority stake in the nation-wide operating Bank Coop (now Bank Cler). The BKB group ranks as one of Switzerland’s ten largest banking groups.

No stone left standing.

Basler Kantonalbank started a radical transformation that affected all business areas. The bank renewed strategy, processes and structures. Driven by the President of the Bank Council, Andreas Sturm, and CEO, Guy Lachappelle, the bank redefined its brand promise and its brand identity with the help of Scholtysik & Partner. On that basis, we created corporate design, interior design, corporate language and corporate sound. Scholtysik & Partner took also care of a solid implementation and great brand consistency across all aspects of customer experience.

BKB increasingly focuses on businesses that require a high degree of individual consultation and are hardly going to be standardized or automated in the near future. Conflicting interests are systematically eliminated: the bank closed offshore subsidiaries in other cantons as well as abroad and sold all interests in asset management providers. Most notably, Basler Kantonalbank hands over all retrocessions (distribution allowances) to the clients and implements extremely strict measurements against tax evasion that go further than those of other Swiss banks.

Basler Kantonalbank Filiale Lounge

«The team’s straight-forward, down-to-earth attitude, their track record, expertise in digital branding and their vast experience in the financial industry made us opt for Scholtysik & Partner.»

Mathias von Wartburg, Head of Marketing
Basler Kantonalbank Filiale Standort
Basler Kantonalbank Filiale Standort Schalterhalle

Both digital and physical

At the new BKB, clients are able to open an account or apply for a credit card online in just a few minutes. They can work out their investment profile by themselves, while advisors are available via chat for questions or consultations. Identification is made via video chat and contracts are concluded completely paperless. That way, all the basic services are available both in the branch offices and online.

For a UX and interface design that is true to the brand, Scholtysik & Partner cooperates with the internal specialists, as well as with different IT providers for e-banking, mobile banking, website, myBKB and various apps, to guarantee a brand experience as consistent as possible throughout the different applications.

Website der Basler Kantonalbank
Basler Kantonalbank Website MyBKB

Maximum clarity for the user is top priority. And this does not only apply to the design.

BKB HomeScan iPhone Screen "Ganz einfach Immobilien Bewerten"

From A to Z

The services of the agency include strategy, positioning, code of conduct and leadership principles, corporate design, corporate language, corporate sound, internal implementation,rebrushing existing and designing new digital applications (e-banking, mobile banking, website, myBKB, apps, social media), branch design supervision, launch communication, event collateral, sponsorships, print publications, forms and brand monitoring.

Broschüren der Basler Kantonalbank
Einblick in die Broschüren der Basler Kantonalbank
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre

«Basel is the homeland of Swiss type design. Haas Unica is a typographic treasure of the Basel School of Design, clear as the Univers, but a touch more human. Suits perfectly.»

Fabian Sander, Partner
Bankkarten Basler Kantonalbank: Maestro, Mastercard
Rebranding der Basler Kantonalbank: Starter Kit
Rebranding der Basler Kantonalbank: Starter Kit
Rebranding der Basler Kantonalbank: Starter Kit
Stationery der Basler Kantonalbank
Basler Kantonalbank Visitenkarten

Of Basel, for Basel

The clear black and white design reflects BKB’s commitment to its home region and its regained strength. The versatility and the digital character of the brand presence also signalize the volition of Basler Kantonalbank to actively shape the ongoing transformation of the sector.

Corporate Colors der Basler Kantonalbank hell auf dunkel
Corporate Colors der Basler Kantonalbank dunkel auf hell
Corporate Typeface der Basler Kantonalbank: Neue Haas Unica
Basler Kantonalbank Neue Filiale Greifengasse Tram
Corporate Clothing Nikkituch und Pochettli der Basler Kantonalbank
Corporate Clothing der Basler Kantonalbank

Services

Brand analysis | Brand positioning | Vision | Brand promise | Brand personality | Leadership principles | Code of conduct | Design assessment | Corporate design | Corporate language | Corporate sound | CI/CD guidelines | Product naming | Interface design for web and banking applications | Coaching branch redesign | Implementation planning | Launch | KPI definition and controlling | Brand strategy | Corporate identity

 

Pictures: Scholtysik & Partner, MINT Architecture, Marcel Scheible, Daniel Infanger

More Projects

Basler Kantonalbank Filiale Standort

Basler Kantonalbank

Back in black

Zurück in der Spur: Nach Irrwegen in der Vergangenheit besinnt sich die Basler Kantonalbank wieder auf ihre Stärke: die unangefochtene Nummer 1 in der Region Basel. Und konzentriert sich ganz auf ihren Auftrag: das Wohlergehen der Basler Bevölkerung und Wirtschaft.

 
Die Basler Kantonalbank ist mit einem Marktanteil von über einem Drittel seit jeher die wichtigste Universalbank der Region Basel. Sie bietet klassisches Retailbanking für Private und KMU, Private Banking für vermögende Private sowie umfassende Finanzdienstleistungen für grosse Unternehmen, institutionelle Anleger und Banken. Seit 2000 ist die BKB mit einer Mehrheit an der Bank Cler (vormals Bank Coop) beteiligt. Der Konzern BKB zählt zu den zehn grössten Schweizer Banken.

Kein Stein bleibt auf dem anderen.

Die Basler Kantonalbank läutet eine tiefgreifende Transformation ein, die alle Geschäftsfelder berührt. Sie erneuert Strategie, Prozesse und Strukturen. Angetrieben von Bankratspräsident Andreas Sturm und CEO Guy Lachappelle definiert die Bank mit Hilfe von Scholtysik & Partner das Markenversprechen und die Markenpersönlichkeit der BKB neu. Auf dieser Basis entstehen Corporate Design, Interior Design, Corporate Language und Corporate Sound. Scholtysik & Partner sorgt auch für die konsequente interne Implementierung und eine markentypische Customer Experience.

Die Basler Kantonalbank fokussiert verstärkt auf beratungsintensive Geschäftsfelder, die auch in Zukunft nicht standardisiert und automatisiert werden. Potentielle Interessenskonflikte werden systematisch vermieden: ausserkantonale Standorte wurden geschlossen, Beteiligungen an Asset Managern verkauft. Markante Neuerungen sind die ungefragte Weitergabe aller Vertriebsentschädigungen an die Kunden, eine harte Weissgeldstrategie, die auch von Altkunden und Inländern Steuerehrlichkeit verlangt, und substanzielle Schritte zur Digitalisierung von Bankdienstleistungen.

Basler Kantonalbank Filiale Lounge

«Ihre geradlinige Haltung, Branding-Kompetenz und grosse Erfahrung in der Finanzindustrie gaben den Ausschlag zugunsten von Scholtysik & Partner.»

Mathias von Wartburg, Leiter Marketing der BKB
Basler Kantonalbank Filiale Standort
Basler Kantonalbank Filiale Standort Schalterhalle

Digital wie physisch

Bei der neuen BKB können Kunden online in wenigen Minuten ein Konto eröffnen oder eine Kreditkarte beantragen. Sie können selbst ihr Anlegerprofil ermitteln und in eine passende Anlagelösung investieren. Dabei stehen via Chat-Funktion Beraterinnen und Berater für Fragen und Beratungsgespräche bereit. Die Identifikation erfolgt über Video und die Verträge werden gänzlich papierlos abgeschlossen. So kann man alle Basisdienstleistungen gleichermassen in der Geschäftsstelle und online erhalten.

Für markengerechtes User-Experience-Design und Interface-Design arbeitet Scholtysik & Partner sowohl mit den bankinternen Spezialisten, wie auch mit den verschiedenen IT-Providern für E-Banking, Mobile-Banking, Website, myBKB und diverse Apps zusammen, um das Markenerlebnis über die verschiedenen Applikationen hinweg möglichst durchgehend zu gestalten.

Website der Basler Kantonalbank
Basler Kantonalbank Website MyBKB

Maximale Klarheit für die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer ist oberstes Gebot. Und das gilt nicht nur im Design.

BKB HomeScan iPhone Screen "Ganz einfach Immobilien Bewerten"

Von A bis Z

Die Dienste der Agentur umfassen Strategie, Positionierung, Führungs- und Verhaltensgrundsätze, Corporate Design, Corporate Language, Corporate Sound, interne Implementierung, das Design bestehender und neuer digitaler Applikationen (E-Banking, Mobile Banking, Website, Virtuelle Filiale, Apps, Social Media), Begleitung des Filial-Designs, Launchkommunikation, Eventpräsenzen, Sponsorships, Printmedien, Formulare und Markencontrolling.

Broschüren der Basler Kantonalbank
Einblick in die Broschüren der Basler Kantonalbank
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre
Basler Kantonalbank Broschüre

«Basel hat eine grosse typografische Tradition. Die Haas Unica ist ein Schrift-Juwel aus der Basler Schule, klar wie die Univers, aber einen Hauch menschlicher. Passt perfekt.»

Fabian Sander, Partner
Bankkarten Basler Kantonalbank: Maestro, Mastercard
Stationery der Basler Kantonalbank
Basler Kantonalbank Visitenkarten

Von Basel, für Basel.

Das klare schwarz-weisse Design widerspiegelt das Bekenntnis der Basler Kantonalbank zur Heimatregion und ihre wiedergewonnene Stärke. Mit seiner Variabilität und seiner digitalen Ausprägung signalisiert der Markenauftritt aber auch den Willen der BKB, den anhaltenden Wandel der Branche aktiv zu gestalten.

Corporate Colors der Basler Kantonalbank hell auf dunkel
Corporate Colors der Basler Kantonalbank dunkel auf hell
Corporate Typeface der Basler Kantonalbank: Neue Haas Unica
Basler Kantonalbank Neue Filiale Greifengasse Tram
Corporate Clothing Nikkituch und Pochettli der Basler Kantonalbank
Corporate Clothing der Basler Kantonalbank

Leistungen

Markenanalyse | Markenpositionierung | Vision | Markenversprechen | Markenpersönlichkeit | Führungsgrundsätze | Verhaltensgrundsätze | Design-Assessment | Corporate Design | Corporate Language | Corporate Sound | CI/CD-Guidelines | Produkt-Naming | UX- und Interface-Design für Web und Bank-Applikationen | Supervision Filialdesign | interne Implementierung | Lancierung | Definition KPIs und Erfolgskontrolle

 

Fotos: Scholtysik & Partner, MINT Architecture, Marcel Scheible, Daniel Infanger

Weitere Projekte