Logo UBS

UBS

Global Excellence in Finance Branding

UBS Group is Switzerland’s largest Bank and one of the world’s largest wealth managers. Since the Swiss Bank Corporation and Union Bank of Switzerland merged in 1998 we supported the bank’s global Brand Design department. As strategic partner and lead agency we helped develop, maintain and implement the UBS corporate design globally.
 
 

Fundamental change

Financial services firms started rather late to build and manage their brands. Strategic finance branding was practically non-existent until well into the 1990ies. In banking circles, “brand” was associated with the noisy promotion of lowly consumer goods but not with the discreet atmosphere of sophisticated financial services.
 
This has changed completely. Today, all relevant players in the financial industry manage their brands actively and usually to very high standards. They learned to build their brands strategically and to employ design as the sharpest tool for the job. UBS can claim a pioneering role in this development. During the merger the bank’s marketing specialists realized that its future brand would need to offer more than long tradition and a well-known name. UBS started to think about its brand promise and brand personality, about key messages and brand recognition through language, design, and sound.
 
 

Single brand strategy and global corporate design

The development and implementation of a globally unified corporate design was an important milestone. Its strong consistency and high degree of detail were unmatched by any other bank at that time. This was leveraged by a single-brand strategy that greatly increased UBS’s global brand awareness. The bank gave up several well-known Wall-Street names such as Warburg, Dillon Read, or Paine Webber. In return, UBS was recognized worldwide as a relevant global player. This greatly accelerated expansion in Asia, especially in China and Singspore.
 
The UBS brand design has been revised and evolved in regular intervals carefully building on existing assets. The advanced visual identity was soon complemented with a verbal and an acoustic identity – once again ahead of the industry. Over time, the brand’s visual expression grew clearer and simpler while its communication became ever more pointed and lively.
 
Finance branding has to deal with greater restrictions than branding in most other industries. UBS overcame these restrictions by striving for highest standards of excellence over a long time. Thus, UBS became the benchmark for brand management in the financial industry.
 
 

Corporate typefaces increase brand recognition

Financial business is essentially verbal, not visual. Legal issues are important and put even more emphasis on the written word. This makes corporate typeface a potential differentiating factor. A typeface gives text a visual expression. The unique and customized expression of UBS’s corporate typefaces UBS Headline and Frutiger became a main constituent of the UBS visual identity – like the logo with the famous key symbol and the brand color red.
 
We developed the corporate typeface families and extended their language coverage in close cooperation with Akira Kobayashi of Monotype. First, we enhanced legibility on screen and added italics and bold weights. Then we added complete Cyrillic and Greek character sets. For Chinese, Japanese, Korean and Arabic writing we defined equivalent typefaces. The brand’s characteristic typography further increases UBS’s brand recognition and improves language support and technical compatibility at the same time.
 
 

Services

Brand strategy | Global brand design | Brand identity implementation | Redesign | Corporate typefaces | Acoustic identity | Online brand design platform | Sponsorships & events | Publications | Internal communication | Financial reporting | Joint ventures and acquisitions branding

More Projects

Logo UBS

UBS

Global Excellence in Finance Branding

Die UBS Group AG ist die grösste Schweizer Bank und zählt zu den weltweit grössten Vermögensverwaltern. Seit der Fusion von Schweizerischer Bankgesellschaft und Schweizerischem Bankverein zur UBS im Jahr 1998 haben wir als strategischer Partner des globalen Brand Design Teams und später als Lead-Agentur die Entwicklung, Pflege und Implementierung des weltweiten UBS Corporate Design betreut.
 
 

Struktureller Wandel

Die Finanzbranche begann relativ spät, ihre Marken gezielt aufzubauen und zu pflegen. Strategisches, zielgerichtetes Finance Branding gab es bis in die 90er Jahre praktisch überhaupt nicht. «Marke» verortete man damals bei lärmigen Konsumgütern, aber nicht bei diskreten Finanzdienstleistungen.
 
Das hat sich gründlich geändert. Alle relevanten Finanzdienstleister betreiben heute aktive Markenpflege – in der Regel auf sehr hohem Niveau. Sie begreifen Design als Leistungsträger in der erfolgreichen Markenführung. UBS darf hier eine Vorreiterrolle für sich in Anspruch nehmen. Im Zuge der Fusion wurde allen Beteiligten bewusst, dass eine Finanz-Marke mehr ist als Tradition und ein guter Name: Werte und Versprechen, Kernbotschaften und wiedererkennbare Wesenszüge in Sprache, Design und Klang.
 
 

Single-Brand-Strategie und globales Corporate Design

Grosse Meilensteine waren die Entwicklung und Durchsetzung eines global einheitlichen Corporate Design in einer Konsequenz und Detailtiefe, die damals in der Branche unerreicht waren. Die anschliessende Implementierung der Single-Brand-Strategie hat dem Finanzkonzern ausserhalb der Schweiz zu einer messbar höheren Bekanntheit verholfen. Dabei verschwanden einige an der Wall Street bekannte Namen wie Warburg, Dillon Read oder Paine Webber, doch UBS wurde nun auch weltweit als einer der relevanten globalen Finanzdienstleister wahrgenommen. Das erleichterte wiederum die Expansion in Asien, namentlich in China und Singapur.
 
Das Corporate Design wurde stetig weiterentwickelt, mit grosser Sorgfalt und immer auf bestehenden Parametern aufbauend. Das visuelle Brand Design wurde schon früh mit Grundlagen und Regeln zur verbalen und zur akustischen Identität ergänzt. Über die Jahre wurde der Auftritt der Bank formal immer einfacher und kommunikativ immer pointierter.
 
Obwohl Finance Branding mit wesentlich stärkeren Einschränkungen umgehen muss als es in den meisten anderen Branchen der Fall ist, tritt die Marke UBS gleichzeitig höchst eigenständig und weltweit wiedererkennbar auf. UBS gilt zu Recht als Benchmark für Markenführung im Bankensektor.
 
 

Schrift macht Marke

Juristische Aspekte wiegen in der Finanzindustrie schwer: im Zweifelsfall gilt das geschriebene Wort. Hier bietet es sich an, die Schrift zum charakteristischen Erkennungsmerkmal zu machen. Denn durch Schrift erhält das Wort einen visuellen Ausdruck. Das eigenständige und präzise auf die Bedürfnisse der Bank zugeschnittene Schriftenpaar UBS Headline und Frutiger bildet – neben dem Logo und der Farbklima Weiss-Schwarz-Rot – den  Grundpfeiler des UBS-Auftritts.
 
Gemeinsam mit Akira Kobayashi von Monotype haben wir die Markenschriften entwickelt und global ausgebaut. Gemeinsam optimieren wir die Lesbarkeit der Schrift für verschiedene Devices und ergänzen die UBS Headline um kursive und fette Schriftschnitte. Zusätzlich erweitern wir die Schriftfamilie um das griechische und kyrillische Alphabet. Für die chinesischen, japanischen, koreanischen und arabischen Schriftsysteme werden passende Äquivalenzschriften definiert. Die markentypische Typografie verschafft UBS hohe Wiedererkennbarkeit sowie maximale Sprachunterstützung und technische Kompatibilität.
 
 

Leistungen

Brand Strategy | Globales Brand Design | Implementierung Brand Identity | Redesign | Markenschrift | Acoustic Identity | Web-basierte Brand Design Platform | Sponsorship & Events | Publikationen | Internal Communications | Financial Reporting | Joint-Venture-Branding | Branding für zahlreiche Joint Ventures und Akquisitionen

Weitere Projekte