Swissgrid

High Voltage

The Swiss high voltage grid is one of the country’s critical infrastructure. The fault tolerance is close to zero. However, Europe’s energy system is changing massively and the demand for electricity continues to increase. In this situation, Swissgrid, the owner and operator of the national extra-high voltage grid, uses its 2022 strategy to lay the foundation for the future of electricity in Switzerland. This increases the demand for communication and public relations.

 

Swissgrid anticipates the growing demands on communication with a sharper brand positioning. Scholtysik & Partner supports Swissgrid in sharpening their brand identity, anchoring the brands strategy within the company and designing and integrating the corporate image.

Active dialogue and variable design

Clear, adaptable and quick to the point. This is how Swissgrid communicates and that’s the way their identity should feel like. Therefore we developed a highly variable system of a few powerful elements: a constantly changing, yet always self-similar composition of the familiar logo, powerful typography and the striking “Powerbar”, an adaptive and – wherever possible – animated color stripe.

Swissgrid Übersicht variables Layout

Clear language, factual loyalty and the willingness to engage in dialogue

Clear communication enables a fact-based dialogue with professionals, politicians and the public. The form follows the content. Clear layouts, straight lines, high contrasts. The brand typeface – Trade Gothic Next – signals direct, pragmatic communication without any ado. The illustration style and icons also convey this attitude in an understandable and precise design language.

Swissgrid Printmedien
Swissgrid Broschüre "Balancing Roadmap Switzerland"
Swissgrid Broschüre Inhaltsverzeichnis
Swissgrid Broschüre
Swissgrid Broschüre
Swissgrid Broschüre
Swissgrid Broschüre
Swissgrid Broschüre
Swissgrid Broschüre "Wir sind Swissgrid"
Swissgrid Folder
Swissgrid Sicherheitsbroschüre

How to address different user groups individually

Swissgrid uses all channels to fulfill its information task and does not abandon printed or spatial communication. However, the increasingly central role is played by their website. We therefore redesigned it completely. Extensive information can be composed entirely modular into rich and individually visualized content. The different users are addressed specifically. The most important user groups are highly specialized professionals on the one hand and interested non-professionals on the other.

For the latter, major theme dossiers promote an understanding of Swissgrid’s complex field of activity. The former can access their technical information directly via search or navigation. A novelty is the interactive map function based on GEO data. It offers anyone interested a realistic representation of lines and network projects.

The website addresses individual information needs – differentiated and specific.

Swissgrid Webseite Smartphone

The anchoring of strategy and brand

We’re supporting the internal implementation closely and for a long time. A broad set of measures deepens the strategy and positioning with employees. Swissgrid’s daily actions, determine to a great extent how Swissgrid is perceived by the public and by partners.

Swissgrid Mitarbeiterkleidung Foulard

Swissgrid is also noticeable in the small details. Internally as well as externally.

Swissgrid Papiertragetasche Freileitungsmast
Swissgrid Stationery

How to make complex things vivid

Electricity is invisible and remains puzzling to many people. We counter this with maximum clear and understandable visualizations. In doing so, Swissgrid neither falls into naïve-childlike nor elitist-abstract modes of illustration, but always maintains empathetic professionalism.

Swissgrid Icons
Swissgrid Illustration Magnetfeld Hausarbeit
Swissgrid Illustration Magnetfeld Freileitung
Swissgrid Schweizer Netzkarte

Dynamic, lifelike pictures

The structures required to overcome the transmission network and their topographical conditions are impressive. This is expressed in imposing pictures by the well-known Swiss photographer Tom Haller. They enrich Swissgrid’s communication and illustrate their challenging mission.

Swissgrid Bild von Freileitungsmast in Stausee stehend
Swissgrid Luftaufnahme von Gebirgsstrasse
Swissgrid Bild von Freileitung in Gebirge

The architecture emphasizes the self-image

A functional design language with a strong charisma reflects the attitude of the Swissgrid brand. The move into their striking new headquarters underscores the ambitions of their brand management and releases internal energies. There, the important role of Swissgrid in our country becomes visible.

Swissgrid Ansicht Hauptsitzgebäude Aarau
Swissgrid Ansicht vom Innenhof des Hauptsitzgebäudes

Adequate motion design

Cinematic techniques and computer animation consistently continue the linguistic and visual appearance. Swissgrid uses their movement to convey abstract, complex or invisible processes and contexts in a memorable way.

Services

Brand analysis | Brand positioning | Brand strategy | Brand promise | Brand personality | Code of conduct | Design assessment | Logo redesign | Corporate design | Corporate language | Corporate sound | Online CI/CD guidelines | UX and Interface design | Motion design | Printed publications and collateral | Exhibition design | Fairs | Implementation | Launch.

 

Pictures: Scholtysik & Partner, Tom Haller, Uwe Spoering

More Projects

Swissgrid

High Voltage

Das Schweizer Höchstspannungsnetz zählt zur kritischen Infrastruktur des Landes. Fehlertoleranz nahezu null. Das Energiesystem Europas wandelt sich jedoch massiv und der Bedarf an Elektrizität nimmt weiter zu. In dieser Situation legt Swissgrid, die Eigentümerin und Betreiberin des nationalen Höchstspannungsnetzes, mit der Strategie 2022 die Grundlage für die Stromzukunft der Schweiz. Damit steigt auch der Anspruch an die Kommunikation und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.

 

Swissgrid antizipiert die wachsenden Anforderungen an die Kommunikation mit einer geschärften Markenpositionierung. Scholtysik & Partner begleitet Swissgrid bei der Schärfung der Markenidentität, der Verankerung der Strategie im Unternehmen sowie der Gestaltung und integralen Umsetzung des Erscheinungsbildes.

Aktiver Dialog und variables Design

Klar, anpassungsfähig und schnell auf den Punkt. So kommuniziert Swissgrid und so soll es sich auch anfühlen. Dafür entwickeln wir ein hochvariables System aus wenigen, kraftvollen Elementen: eine ständig veränderliche und doch immer selbstähnliche Komposition aus dem vertrauten Logo, kräftiger Typografie und dem markanten «Powerbar», einem adaptiven und – wo immer möglich – animierten Farbstreifen.

Swissgrid Übersicht variables Layout

Klare Sprache, Faktentreue und Dialogbereitschaft

Eindeutige Kommunikation ermöglicht einen faktenbasierten Dialog mit Fachleuten, Politik und Bevölkerung. Die Form folgt dem Inhalt. Klare Layouts, gerade Linien, hohe Kontraste. Die Markenschrift – Trade Gothic Next – signalisiert direkte, pragmatische Kommunikation ohne Umschweife. Auch Illustrationsstil und Icons transportieren diese Haltung mit verständlicher und präziser Formensprache.

Swissgrid Printmedien

Unterschiedliche Nutzergruppen spezifisch ansprechen

Swissgrid nutzt alle Kanäle um ihren Informationsauftrag zu erfüllen und verzichtet dabei nicht auf gedruckte oder räumliche Kommunikation. Die zentrale Rolle spielt jedoch zunehmend die Website. Dafür wurde sie vollkommen neu konzipiert. Umfangreiche Informationen können völlig modular zu reichhaltigen und individuell visualisierten Inhalten komponiert werden. Dabei werden die unterschiedlichen Nutzer ganz spezifisch angesprochen. Die wichtigsten Nutzergruppen sind hochspezialisierte Fachleute einerseits und interessierte Laien andererseits.

Für letztere fördern grosse Themendossiers das Verständnis für das komplexe Tätigkeitsfeld von Swissgrid. Erstere können über Suche oder Navigation direkt auf ihre Fachinformationen zugreifen. Ein Novum ist die auf GEO-Daten basierende, interaktive Kartenfunktion. Sie bietet allen Interessierten eine realitätsnahe Darstellung von Leitungen und Netzprojekten.

Die Website adressiert ganz unterschiedliche Informationsbedürfnisse – differenziert und spezifisch.

Verankerung von Strategie und Marke

Wir begleiten die interne Implementierung eng und über längere Zeit. Mit einem breiten Set an Massnahmen werden die Strategie und Positionierung mit den Mitarbeitenden vertieft. Denn mit ihrem täglichen Handeln bestimmen sie in hohem Masse, wie Swissgrid in der Öffentlichkeit und bei Partnern wahrgenommen wird.

Auch in den kleinen Details wird Swissgrid spürbar. Intern genauso wie extern.

Kompliziertes anschaulich machen

Elektrizität ist unsichtbar und bleibt für viele Menschen rätselhaft. Dem setzen wir maximal deutliche und verständliche Visualisierungen entgegen. Dabei verfällt Swissgrid weder in naiv-kindliche, noch in elitär-abstrakte Illustrationsweisen, sondern wahrt stets empathische Professionalität.

Dynamische, lebensechte Bilder

Die für das Übertragungsnetz erforderlichen Bauwerke und die zu überwindenden topografischen Verhältnisse sind eindrücklich. Das bringen wir mit imposanten Bildern des bekannten Schweizer Fotografen Tom Haller zum Ausdruck. Sie bereichern die Kommunikation und veranschaulichen die herausfordernden Auftrag von Swissgrid.

Die Architektur unterstreicht das Selbstverständnis

Eine funktionale Formensprache mit starker Ausstrahlung spiegelt die Haltung der Marke Swissgrid. Der Einzug in den markanten neuen Hauptsitz unterstreicht die Ambitionen der Markenführung und setzt intern Energien frei. Die wichtige Rolle von Swissgrid in unserem Land wird hier sichtbar.

Adäquates Motion-Design

Filmische Mittel und Computer-Animation setzen den sprachlichen und visuellen Auftritt konsequent fort. Swissgrid nutzt den Faktor Bewegung um abstrakte, komplexe oder unsichtbare Vorgänge und Zusammenhänge einprägsam zu vermitteln.

Leistungen

Markenanalyse | Markenpositionierung| Markenstrategie | Markenversprechen | Markenpersönlichkeit | Verhaltensgrundsätze | Design-Assessment| Logo Redesign | Corporate Design | Corporate Language | Corporate Sound | Online-Markenplattform | UX- und Interface-Design | Motion Design | Printmedien |  Ausstellungen | Messen | Implementierung | Lancierung.

 

Fotos: Scholtysik & Partner, Tom Haller, Uwe Spoering

Weitere Projekte