18. February 2021

Maxon on Mars

maxon Mars Mission NASA/JPL-Caltech
Swiss precision drives moving the NASA Perseverance rover and its tiny Ingenuity helicopter: Congratulations to our long-standing client maxon for touchdown on Mars.

On February 18th, 2021 at 9.55 pm Swiss time, NASA landed the Perseverance rover on Mars. It touched down as planned in the Jezero Crater which was flooded with water some three billion years ago. Its mission is to search for signs of ancient microbial life.

The rover has a drill and storage unit to collect samples of Martian rock and soil as well as a small Mars helicopter to test motor flying in the thin Mars atmosphere. Both are moving with ultra reliable electric drives made by maxon.

We congratulate maxon, our client of long standing, for contributing to this amazing and demanding mission. The maxon components are critical to the success of the whole mission. Scholtysik & Partner supported maxon communications in various tasks such as concept work, developing ad series, visitor communication or the Mars badge.

Scholtysik maxon Mars Mission communication
Focus on maxon employees and their contributions to a successful Mars Mission
Scholtysik maxon Mars Mission badge
The Mars Badge – celebrating the Mars Exploration Program since 1997
Scholtysik maxon Mars Mission visitor communication
Facts & figures on Mars missions for visitors and employees

We layed the groundwork for this two years ago with a comprehensive rebranding and successful repositioning of maxon as the world’s leading manufacturer of reliable high precision drive systems. Following the “One company, one brand” direction, we unified the multiple and diverse brand identities of regional subsidiaries and production sites under the maxon brand.

Scholtysik maxon brand design
maxon brand design: minimalist, uncompromising, confident.

The Swiss high-quality approach of maxon translates directly to the brand design: reduction to the essentials, minimalist typography, simple color palette, clear layout. Imagery demonstrates the precision and resolve that is typical for maxon.

Today, some 30 months after drafting first outlines of a future maxon brand strategy, we celebrate a special day in the maxon story. Here’s to many happy returns. May the journey continue.

Images: NASA/JPL-Caltech, maxon, Scholtysik & Partner

More news

18. Februar 2021

maxon on Mars

maxon Mars Mission NASA/JPL-Caltech
Schweizer Präzisionsantriebe im NASA-Rover Perseverance und im Mini-Helikopter Ingenuity: Wir gratulieren unserem langjährigen Kunden maxon zum Touchdown auf dem Mars.

Am 18. Februar 2021 um 21.55 Uhr Schweizer Zeit setzt der NASA-Rover Perseverance auf der Marsoberfläche auf. Er landet planmässig im Jezero-Krater, der vor Milliarden von Jahren mit Wasser gefüllt war, um dort nach Spuren früheren Lebens zu suchen.

Mit an Bord eine Sammeleinheit für Bodenproben und ein kleiner solargetriebener Helikopter, der den ersten motorisierten Flug in der dünnen Marsatmosphäre unternehmen soll. Beide bewegt durch ultrazuverlässige Elektroantriebe von maxon.

Wir gratulieren unserem langjährigen Kunden maxon von Herzen zu dieser Leistung! Scholtysik & Partner unterstützt maxon in der vielfältigen Kommunikation rund um das Abenteuer Mars-Mission in konzeptionellen Belangen, mit der Entwicklung von Kampagnenmotiven, Besuchermedien oder auch dem «Mission Mars Badge».

Scholtysik maxon Mars Mission communication
Im Fokus: Mitarbeitende von maxon und ihr Beitrag zur erfolgreichen Mars-Mission
Scholtysik maxon Mars Mission badge
Der Badge zum Mars Exploration Program
Scholtysik maxon Mars Mission visitor communication
Facts & Figures zur Mars-Mission für Besucher und Mitarbeitende

Grundlage für die aktuelle Kommunikation ist das umfassende Rebranding vor zwei Jahren und die erfolgreiche Positionierung als weltweit führender Anbieter von hochpräzisen und zuverlässigen Antriebssystemen. Unter der Prämisse «one company, one brand» wurden die heterogenen Auftritte diverser Gesellschaften und Standorte unter der Marke maxon zusammengefasst.

Scholtysik maxon brand design
Das Brand Design: minimalistisch, kompromisslos, souverän.

Auch im Design wird seither der Schweizer Qualitätsanspruch von maxon erlebbar: Radikale Reduktion auf das Wesentliche, minimalistische Typografie, reduziertes Farbspektrum, klares Layout. Die Bildwelt visualisiert die markentypische Präzision und Entschiedenheit.

Heute, rund 30 Monate nach ersten Überlegungen zur Markenstrategie, feiern wir einen grossen Tag in der maxon-Story. Auf viele weitere Missionen, wo immer sie auch hinführen. Die Reise geht weiter.

Bilder: NASA/JPL-Caltech, maxon, Scholtysik & Partner

Weitere News